Beginning A Facebook Adventure

When I write, it’s like a whole different world. Cliche, I know, but true. I often imagine that if you could look at me with X-ray vision, you’d see my blood cells were actually little letters, like some sort of naturally occurring alphabet spaghetti. As a child I had a story in the back of every schoolbook, diary, and folder I possessed. Sometimes more than one. I dream novels and have a healthy stationary obsession. This love of words led me from hastily jotted scrawls in a workbook to studying writing after high school, and beginning work as both an author and freelance writer. And, most lately, a blogger. I love all my writing projects but I’ve come to appreciate the blog in a different way than all the rest, because it allows me to also combine writing with my crafty and baking endeavours. It allows me to chronicle the adventures of my life, such as they are, and gives me a window to the world on those moments when being a mummy is almost too hard.

I also like to read Facebook. Random? Not really. Where my Dad used to read the newspaper in the morning, I flip through my news feed. I love to read what my friends and the pages I follow are doing, and a few of my favourite blogs are always there with something to say which helps bring their written world to life just that little bit more. Plus, they post cool pictures of craft supplies and stationary and all those other things I like. I’ve thought about this a lot recently, but it was only last night I decided the time is now right, so I took a bit of a leap and made a Facebook page for the Almanac.

You can find it here, or if you look to the sidebar on the right hand side of the screen you’ll see a nifty little button there that either takes you to the page itself or enables you to ‘like’ it without having to navigate away from my ramblings.

If you enjoy a little window into other people’s worlds, then follow along for a peek into some aspects of my world. I’ll also be sure to let you know whenever a new post is up, as well as assorted happy snaps of fun crafty things and anecdotes about what I ate for breakfast. Or maybe not, because I actually eat the same thing for breakfast every day, so that would get boring by day two – but I’m sure you get the drift.

Do you have a little corner of the world? What is your passion? Do you have alphabet spaghetti in your veins?

Leave a Reply

