The Christmas Wrap-Up

Over the Chritsmas season, I was lucky enough to have my brother and his girlfriend come to visit from interstate. The kids were suitably over-excited and the house was full to bursting, but having them stay with us is one of my favourite things. It’s an extraordinary opportunity for Orion and Piper to spend some precious one on one time with their rad Uncle and Aunt, and there is always plenty of laughter and an abundance of cuddles.

Christmas, as always, spanned over almost a week. At one point Orion announced: “It’s Christmas every day!” We had to get out the calendar and explain so that he wasn’t disappointed when it was all over. I like to spread the celebrations out because it gives the kids more time to absorb the atmosphere and makes the schedule less hectic. We’ve had something on every day for the last two and a half weeks and it was nice to see our family and friends, even if we’re exhausted as a result.

Amongst all the chaos of cooking, cleaning, prepping, present wrapping and general celebrating, my little business stood quietly to one side. I didn’t intend to take two weeks off – it kind of just happened. Now that I look back on the festive season, I’m surprised I even thought it would be possible to work through one of the most hectic periods of the year. That said, I did a lot of thinking. Planning. Wondering. Maybe even a little goal setting. It’s funny how time away from something can change your perspective.

I don’t normally do new year’s resolutions, but this year I experienced a growing sense of determination as 2014 drew to a close. Just this morning Orion said to me: “Mummy, this year I will be five and Piper will be two!” Of course, I already knew this, but hearing it said aloud made me catch my breath. In a few weeks, Orion will have his first day at kindergarten. I’m trying to be brave but the thought still makes my heart tremble. Only a week or so ago, Piper woke up with a vocabulary which had literally tripled overnight, and it continues to grow every day. In fact, all of her is growing – either that or her clothes and shoes are shrinking while I’m looking in the other direction. Before long she’ll be making the transition from cot to bed. It seems impossible that only a short year ago, she was just a six month old baby, snuggling in my lap and rolling about on the floor. Now she’s climbing all over me, opening the cupboards and giving us interpretive dance lessons when she tantrums on the floor. (No really, they are the most hilarious tantrums I have ever seen.)

It only seemed fair that if they grow and change and expand, then so should I. This year I plan to mould my pipe dreams into a unicorn shape and ride them off into the future. When I was a kid, my Dad used to say “If it’s to be, it’s up to me,” and this is a mantra I have tried to apply to my life. When Orion starts kindergarten, I will have more time in my day. In addition to savouring some rare one on one time with Piper and missing my little prince, I intend to expand my freelance clientele. I have creative projects to work on and others to pitch. So many things going around in my head – and it’s time to make them happen.

There’s also a whole bunch of stuff to write about from over the Christmas period – I have been faithfully cataloguing all the baking and crafting and adventuring so that I can share in the coming weeks. Stay tuned!

How about you? How was your Christmas? Did the New Year open new doors? What were your resolutions?

Leave a Reply

