‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

Everyone loves snacks. Bubba Impractical likes them most because there is a higher probability that he won’t be forced to sit in his chair to eat them. I’m pretty happy with him eating non-messy things out of the chair as long as he is still sitting.

Yesterday as a Christmas Eve treat, I let Bubba sit on the couch on Daddy’s lap for his morning tea. To further the treat atmosphere, I had two choices for him: a chocolate coated biscuit or some fruit. This may seem odd (and to me is no competition) but the fruit is actually freeze-dried pieces of apple and pear that are 100% nutritious and dissolve in your mouth like sherbet. Bubba loves this fruit but it is expensive so it is only a treat.

I am not surprised when Bubba takes two pieces of fruit in each hand. They are large enough that his little fists are full. I start to step away but he makes a noise of protest. He is looking at the chocolate coated biscuit I’m holding.

“There is no way you can get that, Bubba,” says Daddy as he too realises the problem. I am looking at Bubba and I can practically see the wheels turning.

“Tell you what, if you can pick up the bikkie, then I’ll let you eat that as well,” I tell him. It’s Christmas Eve, after all. I am expecting him to do what he does with his toys – drop the fruit in his lap in order to get the bikkie. But no, the freeze dried fruit is more important than that and there is no way he is letting it go.

So what does he do? Slowly and with great care, Bubba extends his right fist towards the biscuit until his knuckles are touching. Then he extends his thumb and his pinkie and, being careful not to drop the fruit, takes the biscuit as well.

Daddy and I are laughing but I have to admit it, I’m impressed. Needless to say, he was allowed to keep and eat all of his loot – although Daddy needed to persuade him to put some of it down temporarily in order to actually eat.

My little evil genius is back. Merry Christmas!

Has anything like this ever happened to you? Sharing is caring!

Lots of Love,
Mummy Impractical

Leave a Reply

